Where is the War? (Onde mora a Guerra?)

I met Tiffany Higgins in 2008. She was finishing her book. I was led inside her mind and felt the war in a way that I didn’t before. The little girl’s heart was revealed to me to be as large as her passion for poetry.  Shortly after, I made a short film for her poem “Where is the War?” with same title. You can watch it at youtube or my website at www.moisesjnascimento.com.

This fall, at the beautiful magazine “Poets and Artists”, Michael Parker does an amazing job in getting inside her book, her soul and poetry. You can read the article by clicking here.

The picture below was taken by my mother Maria Nascimento at Moe’s book store in Berkeley around November 2009. I created the art work for our performance in Washington D.C. at the Busboys and Poets last December.

"And Aeneas Stares Into Her Helmet" Reading in Berkeley - Nov 2009

Leave a Reply

