Standard

Freedom Links (Os Elos Da Liberdade)

Over the weekend I had the opportunity, for the first time in 11 years of America to truly celebrate Martin Luther King’s birthday. To freedom and in freedom, I danced, I loved, I was human, perfectly human. Beyond the physical constraints that one day held my ancestors in slave ships from Congo to deep south of the gold mines in Minas Gerais, Brazil, today I claim my freedom from all things that kept me from loving myself and celebrating my full potential in life. On a weekend of amazing discoveries and adventures, I start my work week with the thought that what “link” us together is stronger that what separate us physically, mentally and spirituality. Dreaming has been my personal principle since at the age of 16, I first read Fernando Pessoa defining Dreaming as a duty. Below is my favorite part of the speech that danced to this pas weekend. Thanks to everyone that helps to keep the dream alive!

“I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.”

I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia, the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.

I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a state sweltering with the heat of injustice, sweltering with the heat of oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice.

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

I have a dream today!” (Martin Luther king)

20120117-080433.jpg

20120117-080724.jpg

One thought on “Freedom Links (Os Elos Da Liberdade)

Leave a Reply

