The Keeper of Flock (O Guardador de Rebanhos)

I am a keeper of flock

The flock is my thoughts

And all of my thoughts are sensations.

I think with the eyes and with the ears

And with the hands and with the feet

And with the nose and with the mouth.

 

To think of a flower is to see and to smell it.

And to eat a fruit and to understand its meaning.

 

Therefore, in a warm day

I feel sad for enjoying it (the fruit) so much,

And I lay down stretched out in the grass,

And I close my warm eyes,

And I feel my whole body laying down in reality,

I know the truth and I am happy.

 

 IX. Sou um guardador de rebanhos

 

Sou um guardador de rebanhos.

O rebanho é os meus pensamentos

E os meus pensamentos são todos sensações.

Penso com os olhos e com os ouvidos

E com as mãos e os pés

E com o nariz e a boca.

 

Pensar numa flor é vê-la e cheirá-la

E comer um fruto é saber-lhe o sentido.

 

Por isso quando num dia de calor

Me sinto triste de gozá-lo tanto,

E me deito ao comprido na erva,

E fecho os olhos quentes,

Sinto todo o meu corpo deitado na realidade,

Sei da verdade e sou feliz.

 

– Fernando Pessoa

 

Leave a Reply

